# VAN BUREN COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS REGULAR MEETING FEBRUARY 18, 2015 – 7:00 P. M.

The Regular Meeting of the Van Buren Community School Board of Directors came to order February 18, 2015 at 7:00 P.M. at the High School Library in Keosauqua. Members present were President Bob Steingreaber, Vice-President Kara McEntee, Director Sheila Parsons, Director Andrew Lydolph, Director Cindy Lowe, Director Rick Plowman, Director Stan Whitten and Superintendent Dr. Pam Ewell.

#### **Approval of Agenda**

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Whitten to approve the agenda. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

#### **Public Hearing**

The board discussed the 2015-2016 school calendar. No public opinions were expressed. Motion by Director Parsons, second by Director McEntee to approve a September 3<sup>rd</sup> start date for the 2015-2016 school year. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

Motion by Director Lowe, second by Director Parsons to approve the minutes from the January 28,

2015 Joint Work Session; the February 4, 2015 Special Session and Work Session; and the February 11,

2015 Special Session and Work Session. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

#### **Public Forum**

Kathy Burchett expressed concerns regarding the renovation plans.

#### **Information Items**

#### Statement on former Stockport school ownership

Board President Bob Steingreaber read aloud a letter to the editor that appeared in the Van Buren Register regarding the ownership of the former Stockport school.

#### **Old Business**

# Estes Construction and BLDD-update of changes and budget

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Lowe to move forward with the conceptional designs presented for renovation within the walls of the present building and the addition of the secure entrance/office area. Ayes 4, Nays 1, Director Plowman abstained. Motion carried.

# **Facility Improvements-Piper Jaffray documents**

There are no new documents at this time.

# Timelines

There are currently no changes to the building project timeline.

#### 4% Resolution to Legislature

The board would like to continue to work on the resolution. Board President Steingreaber will continue to work on the resolution.

# Grant-Iowa Department of Public Health-Partnership for Success Grant

Heidi Bainbridge presented information regarding the Partnership for Success Grant. Motion byDirector Whitten, second by Director Lowe to accept the Partnership for Success Grant funding. Ayes6, Nays 0, motion carried.

#### **Bus Bids**

The board discussed the bids received from Thomas Bus Sales and Blue Bird. Motion by Lydolph, second by Plowman to approve purchasing two Thomas buses as presented (no additional warranties). Ayes 4, Nays 3, motion carried.

#### Policies

2<sup>nd</sup> Reading

505.1 Student Record Access

505.E12 Request of Nonparent for Examination or Copies of Student Records

505.2E2 Request for Hearing on Correction on Student Records

506.1E5 Request for Examination of Student Records

506.1E7 Letter to Parent Regarding Receipt of Subpoena

503 Compulsory Attendance

**102 Equal Education Opportunity** 

102.E1 Notice of Non-Discrimination

102.E4 Section 504 Student and Parental Rights

102.R1 Grievance Procedure

502.7 Smoking Drinking Drugs

505.5 Graduation Requirements

505.6 Early Graduation

507.2 Administration of Medication to Students-Review Only

404 Licensed Employee Evaluation

404.1 Licensed Employee Probationary Status

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Whitten to approve the aforementioned 2<sup>nd</sup>

readings. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

# 1<sup>st</sup> Readings

100.2 Equal Educational Opportunity

402.R5 Equal Employment Opportunity

### **New Business**

# Property gifted to the school district from the city

Dr. Ewell presented a map of the property the city is gifting to the school. The board needs to agree to adopt the resolution and then declare it adopted. Motion by Director Whitten, second by Director Parsons to agree to adopt the resolution. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

# Iowa Assessments

Mary Dawn Schuck presented Iowa Assessment information to the board.

# **Financial Reports**

Dennis Gourley presented information regarding the district's finances.

# Lease Agreement for Office Space

Motion by Director Parsons, second by Director Whitten to approve the renting of 701 Broad Street,

Suite 3, Keosauqua, Iowa by the Drug Free Communities Grant. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

#### **Consent Agenda**

- A. Personnel
  - a. Resignations
    - i. Gary Loeffler, JH Boys 8th grade basketball
    - ii. Jordan Billups, JV Girls softball coach
  - b. Hires
  - c. Volunteers
- B. Leave Requests
- C. Open Enrollment
  - a. Lily Zepnier, Gr. 1, from VB to Fairfield
  - b. Taylor Bettin, Gr. K from VB to Cardinal
- D. Fundraisers

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Whitten to approve the consent agenda. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

# **Approval of Bills**

Motion by Director Whitten, second by Director McEntee to approve the bills. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

### Communications

The board will hold a work session and a special session on February 25<sup>th</sup> at 6:00pm at the high school library.

# Adjourn

Motion by Director Parsons, second by Director Whitten to adjourn the meeting. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:51 P.M.

# VAN BUREN COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS CLOSED SESSION FEBRUARY 18, 2015

The Closed Session of the Van Buren Community School Board of Directors came to order February 18, 2015 at 9:57 P.M. at the High School Library in Keosauqua. Roll call vote was taken, President Bob Steingreaber-Aye, Vice-President Kara McEntee-Aye, Director Sheila Parsons-Aye, Director Andrew Lydolph-Aye, Director Cindy Lowe-Aye, Director Rick Plowman-Aye, Director Stan Whitten-Aye. Also, in attendance was Superintendent Dr. Pam Ewell.

# **Approval of Agenda**

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Whitten to approve the agenda. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

The board entered into closed session per Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(a).

# Adjourn

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Whitten to adjourn from closed session. Roll call vote was taken: President Steingreaber-Aye, Vice-President McEntee-Aye, Director Parsons-Aye, Director Lydolph-Aye, Director Lowe-Aye, Director Plowman-Aye, Director Whitten-Aye. Ayes 7, Nays 0, motion carried. The closed session adjourned at 10:55 P.M.

By Mindy Smith, District Office Secretary Dennis Gourley, School Business Official/Board Secretary