VAN BUREN COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WORK SESSION

January 28, 2015

The Joint Work Session of the Van Buren Community School Board of Directors and the Harmony School District Board of Directors came to order January 28, 2015 at 7:07 PM at the Harmony School District Cafeteria. Members present were President Bob Steingreaber, Vice-president Kara McEntee, Director Sheila Parsons, Director Andrew Lydolph, Director Rick Plowman, Director Stan Whitten, Director Cindy Lowe, School Business Official & Board Secretary, Dennis Gourley and Superintendent Dr. Pam Fwell.

Motion by Director Parsons, second by Director McEntee to approve the agenda. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

Discussion between the two boards commenced with Dr. Ewell and the Van Buren Board of Directors providing information regarding Van Buren's current finances.

Planned renovations at the Keosaugua location were discussed.

Class offerings at Van Buren CSD High School were presented.

The Harmony Board of Directors brought up the idea of the two districts sharing a Superintendent.

Both boards discussed responsibilities of gathering information for future meetings. Dr. Ewell and Mr. Phillips will meet to gather more information requested by Van Buren Board of Directors and Harmony Board of Directors.

The next joint work session between the Van Buren Board of Directors and the Harmony Board of Directors will be held February 25, 2015 at 7:00 PM at the Van Buren Secondary School Gymnasium.

Motion by Director Lydolph, second by Director McEntee to adjourn. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 9:31 P.M.

By Mindy Smith, District Office Secretary

Dennis Gourley, School Business Official/Board Secretary

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions, and policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's Office, 293-3334, Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.